California DMV Driving Test

Pass the California Permit Test the first time with our FREE California Practice Tests. Study real driving permit test questions from the DMV handbook!.


1. You should never make a u-turn in which of the following scenarios?
2. You must show proof of insurance to law enforcement:
3. You may cross a single solid white line in the highway
4. While driving, when you see a triangular road sign, you must
5. You must yield the right-of-way at an intersection to:
6. Which of the following substances can affect the ability to drive?
7. When changing lanes on a freeway, you should:
8. In general, you should pass vehicles going in the same direction as you are going
9. If you have an accident, the law requires you to exchange your driver's license information with:
10. A ____ indicates the outer edge of the traffic lane, and it may be crossed only by traffic moving to or from the shoulder.
11. What is the wrong thing to do when you are trying to know what is ahead of you?
12. When are you required to have your driver's license in your possession?
13. You must stop when you see a:
14. You must signal continuously during the last 100 feet before you turn at an intersection:
15. Is talking on your cell phone permitted while driving?
16. You were parked and have been waiting a long time with your turn signal on to re-enter traffic. however traffic is heavy. you should:
17. What is the most common traffic violation for teenage drivers?
18. Which of these is recommended for driving at night on a dimly lit street?
19. When you want to pass a large truck in the center of 3 lanes, it is best to pass:
20. This posted sign indicates
Grade

California DMV Driving Test

My score:


About Permit Practice Tests

To operate a motorcycle in California, you must have a Class M license. Licenses are issued through the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The state offers a motorcycle instruction permit and two license levels. An M1 license includes any type of motorcycle, and an M2 license is specifically for motorbikes, mopeds, or scooters. You must be at least 15 ½ to apply for a Class M1 or M2 permit. At age 16, you can apply for an M1 or M2 license if you have held a permit for at least 6 months.

To receive a Class M1 or M2 permit or license, you must submit your documentation, pass the vision screening, pass the driver and motorcycle knowledge tests, complete a Form DL44 application, and pay the fees. Anyone under the age of 21 must also complete the California Highway Patrol California Motorcyclist Safety Program (CHP CMSP) and submit the certification. Applicants who are over 21 are encouraged to take the CHP CMSP course as well, and the motorcycle skills test is waived for those who complete the course.

Tests are scheduled through your local DMV. The written exam contains 25 questions about signaling, crossing, changing lanes and other safe driving practices. You must answer 20 of the questions correctly to pass. The motorcycle skills test examines how well you handle and operate your motorcycle. If you fail a test, you must wait one day to retake it.